Doing their Duty

“As I write, highly civilized people are flying overhead, trying to kill me. They do not feel any enmity against me as an individual, nor I against them. They are only ‘doing their duty’ as the saying goes. Most of them, I have no doubt are kind-hearted, law abiding men who would never dream of committing murder in private life. On the other hand, if one of them succeeds in blowing me to pieces, with a well placed bomb, he will never sleep the worse for it.” George Orwell

Leave a Reply

